Vegan Iron Chef: Po’rn Puppies

With the announcement of this weekend’s Iron Chef challenge calling for mashed potatoes as the secret ingredient, I went through a few ideas before I got the crazy idea of deep-frying it. This lead to the creation of po’rn puppies, mashed potatoes dipped into a corn batter, then fried.

The Method:

In addition to the usual olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper, I added some minced cayenne peppers to the mashed potatoes. I spread it out on a baking sheet and placed it for awhile in an oven set at its lowest heat setting to dry it out a little. I made up a batch of hush puppy batter, then rolled little balls of potatoes and dropped them individually into it and stirred them around until well-coated. They were then fried in a pan of hot oil until browned. I didn’t have enough oil to completely deep-fry, so I had to flip them to make sure both sides were browned and crispy.

This entry was posted in VeganMoFo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vegan Iron Chef: Po’rn Puppies

  1. celyn says:

    OK, that sounds amazing. You figured out how to improve hush puppies. I did not think that was possible. How were they?

  2. Shannon says:

    YUM. Deep fried carbs. My fave!!

  3. Pingback: Vegan MoFo #6: Iron Chef Mashed! at Don’t Eat Off The Sidewalk!

  4. Mo says:

    You are amazing! Seriously.

  5. I puffy heart you and your crazy fried taters!

  6. Pingback: Friday Food: Sharing is Caring! » V for Vegan: easyVegan.info

Leave a Reply

